Timeline of stamp issuing entities of British Central Africa and connected areas

British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA) 1891–1907
British South Africa Company (BSAC) 1892–1917
Nyasaland [Protectorate] 1907–1953
Southern Rhodesia 1924–1953
Northern Rhodesia 1925–1953
[The Federation of] Rhodesia and Nyasaland 1954–1963
Malawi 1964–today
Zambia 1964–today
Rhodesia 1965–1978
Zimbabwe 1980–today

Stamp issuing entities of British Central Africa and connected areas

Name Issued
1891–1907 British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA)

The British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA) was a protectorate proclaimed in 1889 and ratified in 1891 that occupied the same area as present-day Malawi: it was renamed Nyasaland in 1907.

≈ 70
1892–1917 British South Africa Company (BSAC)

The British South Africa Company (BSAC or BSACo) was established following the amalgamation of Cecil Rhodes’ Central Search Association and the London-based Exploring Company Ltd which had originally competed to exploit the expected mineral wealth of Mashonaland but united because of common economic interests and to secure British government backing.

≈ 100
1907–1953 Nyasaland [Protectorate]

Nyasaland, or the Nyasaland Protectorate (/ˈnjɑːsɑːˌlænd/ or /naɪˈæsəˌlænd/), was a British protectorate located in Africa, which was established in 1907 when the former British Central Africa Protectorate changed its name.

≈ 100
1924–1953 Southern Rhodesia

Southern Rhodesia was the name of the self-governing British colony north of the Limpopo River and the Union of South Africa.

≈ 100 ≈ 2
1925–1953 Northern Rhodesia

Northern Rhodesia was a protectorate in south central Africa, formed in 1911 by the amalgamating the two earlier protectorates of North-Western Rhodesia and North-Eastern Rhodesia. It was initially administered, as were the two earlier protectorates, by the British South Africa Company, (BSAC), a chartered company on behalf of the British government.

≈ 80
1954–1963 [The Federation of] Rhodesia and Nyasaland

The Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, also known as the Central African Federation (CAF), was a semi-independent federation of three southern African territories – the self-governing British colony of Southern Rhodesia and the British protectorates of Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland – between 1953 and 1963.

≈ 60
1964–today Malawi

Nyasaland became independent from British rule and renamed itself Malawi on 6 July 1964.

→ see under Malawi
≈ 900 ≈ 144
1964–today Zambia
→ see under Zambia
≈ 2 Thousand ≈ 256
1965–1978 Rhodesia
→ see under Zimbabwe
≈ 200 ≈ 16
1980–today Zimbabwe
→ see under Zimbabwe
≈ 800 ≈ 88

About British Central Africa


  • David Horry, “The Postmarks of Southern Rhodesia during the King George VI Period, 1937–1953,” Gibbons Stamp Monthly, July 2013: 103-105.

  • David Horry, “The Postmarks of Northern Rhodesia During the King George VI Period 1937–53,” Gibbons Stamp Monthly, October 2013: 65-67.