Timeline of stamp issuing entities of Zimbabwe and connected areas

British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA) 1891–1907
British South Africa Company (BSAC) 1892–1917
Nyasaland [Protectorate] 1907–1953
Southern Rhodesia 1924–1953
Northern Rhodesia 1925–1953
[The Federation of] Rhodesia and Nyasaland 1954–1963
Rhodesia 1965–1978
Zimbabwe 1980–today

Stamp issuing entities of Zimbabwe and connected areas

Name Issued
1891–1907 British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA)

The British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA) was a protectorate proclaimed in 1889 and ratified in 1891 that occupied the same area as present-day Malawi: it was renamed Nyasaland in 1907.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 70
1892–1917 British South Africa Company (BSAC)

The British South Africa Company (BSAC or BSACo) was established following the amalgamation of Cecil Rhodes’ Central Search Association and the London-based Exploring Company Ltd which had originally competed to exploit the expected mineral wealth of Mashonaland but united because of common economic interests and to secure British government backing.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 100
1907–1953 Nyasaland [Protectorate]

Nyasaland, or the Nyasaland Protectorate (/ˈnjɑːsɑːˌlænd/ or /naɪˈæsəˌlænd/), was a British protectorate located in Africa, which was established in 1907 when the former British Central Africa Protectorate changed its name.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 100
1924–1953 Southern Rhodesia

Southern Rhodesia was the name of the self-governing British colony north of the Limpopo River and the Union of South Africa.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 100 ≈ 2
1925–1953 Northern Rhodesia

Northern Rhodesia was a protectorate in south central Africa, formed in 1911 by the amalgamating the two earlier protectorates of North-Western Rhodesia and North-Eastern Rhodesia. It was initially administered, as were the two earlier protectorates, by the British South Africa Company, (BSAC), a chartered company on behalf of the British government.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 80
1954–1963 [The Federation of] Rhodesia and Nyasaland

The Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, also known as the Central African Federation (CAF), was a semi-independent federation of three southern African territories – the self-governing British colony of Southern Rhodesia and the British protectorates of Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland – between 1953 and 1963.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 60
1965–1978 Rhodesia ≈ 200 ≈ 16
1980–today Zimbabwe ≈ 800 ≈ 88

About Zimbabwe


  • Peter Thy, ed. The Northern Mails and Telegraphs: Bechuanaland and Rhodesia in the Annual Reports of the Postmaster-General, Cape of Good Hope, 1885-1909. Krone Publications, 2001. http://www.bechuanalandphilately.com/The_Northern_Mails_and_Telegraphs.pdf.