Timeline of stamp issuing entities of Malawi and connected areas

British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA) 1891–1907
British South Africa Company (BSAC) 1892–1917
Nyasaland [Protectorate] 1907–1953
Southern Rhodesia 1924–1953
Northern Rhodesia 1925–1953
[The Federation of] Rhodesia and Nyasaland 1954–1963
Malawi 1964–today

Stamp issuing entities of Malawi and connected areas

Name Issued
1891–1907 British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA)

The British Central Africa Protectorate (BCA) was a protectorate proclaimed in 1889 and ratified in 1891 that occupied the same area as present-day Malawi: it was renamed Nyasaland in 1907.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 70
1892–1917 British South Africa Company (BSAC)

The British South Africa Company (BSAC or BSACo) was established following the amalgamation of Cecil Rhodes’ Central Search Association and the London-based Exploring Company Ltd which had originally competed to exploit the expected mineral wealth of Mashonaland but united because of common economic interests and to secure British government backing.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 100
1907–1953 Nyasaland [Protectorate]

Nyasaland, or the Nyasaland Protectorate (/ˈnjɑːsɑːˌlænd/ or /naɪˈæsəˌlænd/), was a British protectorate located in Africa, which was established in 1907 when the former British Central Africa Protectorate changed its name.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 100
1924–1953 Southern Rhodesia

Southern Rhodesia was the name of the self-governing British colony north of the Limpopo River and the Union of South Africa.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 100 ≈ 2
1925–1953 Northern Rhodesia

Northern Rhodesia was a protectorate in south central Africa, formed in 1911 by the amalgamating the two earlier protectorates of North-Western Rhodesia and North-Eastern Rhodesia. It was initially administered, as were the two earlier protectorates, by the British South Africa Company, (BSAC), a chartered company on behalf of the British government.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 80
1954–1963 [The Federation of] Rhodesia and Nyasaland

The Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland, also known as the Central African Federation (CAF), was a semi-independent federation of three southern African territories – the self-governing British colony of Southern Rhodesia and the British protectorates of Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland – between 1953 and 1963.

→ see under British Central Africa
≈ 60
1964–today Malawi

Nyasaland became independent from British rule and renamed itself Malawi on 6 July 1964.

≈ 900 ≈ 144

About Malawi


  • Nimrod [pseud.], “Stamp Hunting: Nimrod suggests some stamps worth looking for: Malawi,” Gibbons Stamp Monthly, January 2016: 137.